JK sets up Delimitation Commission

Date: 2020-03-14 19:38:46

The Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir has set up the Delimitation Commission for the process of delimitation of Lok Sabha and assembly constituencies. The Commission was formed under the chairmanship of former Supreme Court judge Ranjana Prakash Desai. The members of the Commission are Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Shushil Chandra and election commissioners of J&K, and the four North-Eastern states will be ex-officio members of the Commission.

The delimitation in the UT of J&K will be based on the 2011 Census due to an amendment in the J&K Reorganisation Act.
Delimitation will be carried out as per the provisions of the J&K Reorganisation Act that split the J&K state into two UTs of Jammu and Kashmir with an assembly and Ladakh without an assembly.